Go somewhere

Ok, so it’s the weekend. Many of us fall out of our workouts or diets on the weekend. I know I do, but fight that desire to bum around the house and be a couch potato. However, you do need rest. Do a quick workout in the morning to wake up, then get out of town. Get out of the house. I’m a huge fan of vacation. It’s such an important part of life. Marriages need getaways, families NEED family vacation, and even I need to get out of town every once in awhile when I’m in school.

Go to Dallas or Austin or some other city for the day and find a park. Find a state park somewhere and go hiking, running, or biking, play mini golf, go to a bed and breakfast with your spouse, make a picnic in the back yard, go kayaking, jump on a trampoline, go swimming, take your kids on a scavenger hunt, treat yourself at a spa, go to the movies, do something! My preference is to be outside and I believe that it’s important for your health. You need sun, fresh air. If you live in a city, then go outside of the city.

Statistics say that people who take at least one vacation a year are healthier than those that don’t. Marriages that take at least one vacation a year exclusively without the kids are stronger than those that don’t and families that take family vacations are closer as well. My parents take vacations, just the two of them, every year and they are more in love than ever and they are pretty fit healthy people πŸ˜‰Β  So find something small to do today or plan a vacation before school starts!

20120803-122924.jpg

20120803-123007.jpg

20120803-123043.jpg

2 thoughts on “Go somewhere

  1. Hope we are fit and healthy, but I know we are more in love than ever. I always thought it was funny how quickly you caught on to these trips when you would tell your sisters, “Don’t be upset. They are always happier when they get home.” πŸ™‚ Smart baby girl I have here. Love you baby.

Leave a comment