Get Outside!

Being outside is extremely vital to our health.  Our body needs fresh air and sunlight. For a few years there was a big fuss about how people don’t get enough vitamin D anymore because they’re not outside as much.  While I’m not scientific about this, I believe it’s true that we need to be outside more.  Not just for our body, but our emotional and spiritual health.  I don’t know about you, but everyone I know is so much happier when they make time to hammock, go for a walk, go for a run, go to a playground, go for a hike, go kayaking, go for a bike ride, etc.  However, it’s so easy to get caught up in school or work or both that we don’t get out enough.  Recreation is so important to our lifestyle, we can’t forget to make time for it.  I’m a Recreation, Parks and Tourism major and I study this, so trust me.  Go outside, find a hobby, do your workouts in your backyard or at a park.  Studies have proven people are healthier and happier when they make time for recreation and spend time outside. If you live in a city, find a park or even take one day a week to drive outside of town and spend some time outside.

Kayak

Another great thing to do is to spend your Jesus time outside.  Some of my best days are when I wake up early, spend my Jesus time on my porch and go for a run before the Texas heat blows in.  There’s just an undeniable intimacy with our creator when we are in His creation.  You do not have to be an outdoorsy person for God to meet you in the outdoors.  You can be the biggest city lover you know but still be rejuvenated by nature. It’s Gods own personal refreshment for our hectic lives.

trail

God gave us responsibility and authority over creation and it’s our job to protect and care for it.  But also to enjoy it.  Don’t take your backyard for granted.  Don’t ignore the parks in your town.  They’re there for your enjoyment so take advantage and get out!

hiking

Leave a comment